Metropolis Musings

Darwin | September 30, 2009

You can argue about religion all you want, but that Darwin was a smart guy!  I was so close to watching natural selection first hand today.  Now I grew up in Boston, jaywalking is not foreign to me, but I calculate my moves.  Sure, I’ll walk across the street when it says don’t walk, but only because I have looked both ways (thanks parents).  Every now and then I may even push the limits and need to put some spring in my step, but I don’t actively chose to put myself in front of a moving vehicle.

As I was walking home from class earlier I found myself stopped at an intersection.  Generally I like to keep moving, so I cross the street in the direction that has the walk or I keep going up another block, but in this case, I really just needed to wait my turn.  While I was waiting, two delinquents (and yes, they earned their title) came jogging up next to me and proceeded to yell, “FROGGER!” before running out into moving traffic.  Frogger, to those of you unfamiliar, is an arcade turned computer game where you guide poor excuses for frogs (hey, it was the 80s, graphics have come a long way) across a road, dodging cars and trying not to get killed.  Well, I at least give them points for being comical.

So sure enough, they set out into moving traffic, stopping car after car.  And by “car” I mean cab, and cabs don’t like obstructions.  If I were one of the cabs, the only thing that would keep me from teaching them a lesson would be the insurance nightmare that would inevitably ensue.  But alas, yet another opportunity to rid our society of the bottom rung snatched from the jaws of defeat.  Let’s just pray they don’t breed.

Posted in 1

1 Comment »

  1. where’s the updates??

    Comment by chris — October 16, 2009 @ 2:16 am


Leave a Reply

About author

Adjusting to city life...

Search

Navigation

Categories:

Links:

Archives:

Feeds

