Metropolis Musings

Late night visitor | September 19, 2009

I am back in Boston for the weekend.  I went to sleep last night and was so happy to have such silence from the outside world, I didn’t turn my fan on.  30 minutes later I was awoken by an odd noise.  I illuminated my phone to see if I spotted anything.  Sure enough, something flew by.  As my eyes had not yet adjusted, I figured it was a moth.  So I turned on my bedside table and saw this is no ordinary moth.  I hopped out of bed and scurried to turn the light on.  And there he was, in all his glory, a bat circling my room.  Fabulous.

Now growing up, I was obsessed with bats.  They were my favorite animals.  I even have a bat house that still hangs from a pine tree in my side yard.  But I built it so they would live in that house, not mine!

Ultimately, I shut the door, and sleep in a different bedroom.  He probably made it in through A/C that was not tightly sealed.  This morning, figuring the nocturnal creature was fast asleep, my mother and I tag teamed opening the window and taking out the A/C unit so the lil one can fly out this evening.  Let’s hope he finds safe passage out and keeps his rabies to himself!

Posted in Miscellaneous

Leave a Comment »

Leave a Reply

About author

Adjusting to city life...

Search

Navigation

Categories:

Links:

Archives:

Feeds

