Metropolis Musings

Shoe Store Surprise | September 11, 2009

Well, my initial hypothesis stands.  New York City is just so random and last night was no exception.  It was what is known as “Fashion Night Out” in NYC so the trendy shopping areas go crazy.  Now, if you know me, you know fashion’s not really my thing, so I was not intrigued until I happened upon some exciting information.  I looked up what stores were involved and finally saw one I recognized–Nine West.  photo-8The rest were mostly designers, well I’m assuming that’s what they were, just lots of European names that sounded really expensive.   So I click on Nine West and to my surprise, they were having a concert in their store that evening.  And who would perform in this unusual venue?  Third Eye Blind!  It’s a band, people, anyone over the age of 35 may have to google them.

So.  Now I’m pumped.  I love Third Eye Blind (or as they are affectionately known, 3eb).  When I arrived with some friends, there was a line around the corner, though they were located one store from the corner so it was not a horrific wait.  However, in the scheme of how many patrons a shoe store could fit, it was iffy if we were to get in.  A few girls behind us left when they heard Justin Timberlake was at Saks, but that didn’t help us move up in the line.  Finally they let a few people in and that was it!  Already filled to capacity.  I refused to accept defeat yet!

We hung out in line for a bit longer, people in front of us slowly drifted away and you could hear the music inside.  Eventually enough people had left so that I was at the front of the outdoor crowd.

Before I get to the climax, I must digress and mention that there were some characters out last night.  3eb has it’s followers, but is not as mainstream as some bands, so its followers come out of the woodwork for Nine West concerts.  There was this one guy who was in his 40s, I’d say, and was a diehard.  Sang along to all the lyrics, but showed his undying support by sporting a yarmulke with a 3eb logo stitched on.  Mighty impressive.

The other hilarious encounter was not so much a devout fan as it was just awkward behavior.  There was this Asian girl that weaseled her way up right in front of me.  After a few minutes, it became clear that she was trying to find her friend in the back of the crowd.  She kept turning around and looking back and forth constantly and every now and then glance back down at her phone.  Then she decides she needs to be a bit more proactive and thinks it best to try and call out to them.  She goes to bring her hands to her mouth and yell out to them, but then thinks better of this and chicken’s out.  After all, some of us are trying to listen.  Well she continues to do this at least another dozen times.  It ends up looking like she is dry heaving, very erratic.  Finally, she commits, and in an ever so soft whisper calls out “Chris”.  Yeah sweetie, now he’s got the location pinpointed.  She was thoroughly amusing to watch.

Alright, back to excitement.  So, I’m towards the front or the crowd outside, and what should happen?  Stephan Jenkins (the lead singer) feels bad and decides he’ll come outside and play a song for us!  With the people having to make room, he is literally standing directly in front of me, no more than a foot between his guitar and myself.  It was incredible.  I don’t get star struck, but I was somewhat in shock of the whole situation, definitely worth it to stand outside for the minutes prior.

3eb

Stephen Jenkins of 3eb, this picture is zoomed all the way out.

So that was my randomly amazing evening.  The added bonus being that Nine West gave out free umbrellas just for kicks.  It was drizzling off and on, but they came in handy later.  And with a free umbrella and a performance that breached my personal space, I went home happy.

Posted in New York City

1 Comment »

  1. 3eb! 3eb! Brings back kiss concert memories…

    Comment by Sarah — September 11, 2009 @ 10:23 pm


Leave a Reply

About author

Adjusting to city life...

Search

Navigation

Categories:

Links:

Archives:

Feeds

