Metropolis Musings

Pale is in! | September 9, 2009

skin whitening

TV Commercial: A dark skin guy turns to his friend and says in Hindi, "I am unlucky because of my face." His light skin friend replies, "Not because of your face, because of the color of your face."

Why is the grass always greener on the other side?  In America, the ads tell us that attractive equates to looking like we just washed up from the sandy beaches of Belize.  Now when I saw this product, I became quite excited at the concept that finally the trend had reversed and soon my skin tone would be all the rage!  Alas, though I may be idolized in the Asia, I fear my dear America is still disenchanted with the hue of my complexion.  And it doesn’t take much to see that when advertised in other cultures this product has some pretty egregious racial implications.

But just as flannel shirts are making their triumphant return, I so hope that someday, pale skin in the US will too.  People didn’t always used to be this dark all year round!  Spray tans are relatively new inventions!  But for those of you who like to be early to the party, might I recommend SPF 70 or higher sunscreen.  It’s like spreading cream cheese all over your body, but without the lactose upset.  Don’t leave home without it.

Posted in Miscellaneous

2 Comments »

  1. I feel that like that flannel comment was specifically a shout-out to me, so…thanks!! 🙂

    Comment by Sarah — September 10, 2009 @ 9:57 pm

  2. of course it was 🙂

    Comment by jrh — September 11, 2009 @ 11:49 pm


Leave a Reply

About author

Adjusting to city life...

Search

Navigation

Categories:

Links:

Archives:

Feeds

