Metropolis Musings

Reindeer for Obama | September 7, 2009

Reindeer for ObamaSo yesterday as I was walking through a street fair, one of the vendor tables caught my eye. They were selling t-shirts, and since it was well away from Times Square, I don’t just mean the tourist classic “I ♥ NY” shirt.  These were nice graphic-Ts that were going for $15 a pop. However, they had a side table for $2 a piece or 3/$5! Well I went a’fishing and found a real gem.

Those of you who know me know I’m not crazy into politics nor do I like to advertise my opinions, but this was too good to pass up.  They had lots of other versions as well, but mostly in smaller sizes.  Some other popular phrases were “Polar Bears for Obama” “Penguins for Obama” and of course my “Reindeer for Obama”.

I know that the message is Obama is environmentally conscious and promotes sustainability–ergo these fine polar dwelling creatures will still have a place to live and therefore, support Obama.  But now that I think about it, could you contrive the theory that the subtle message is that Obama was more popular in places that endure colder climates?  Let me tell you from experience, the South is not going to be selling these shirts, at least not with the intent that you’ll wear them.  Which made me want to buy them for my family down there in case they wanted some and were disappointed at their inaccessibility.  There were some perfect children’s sizes I could get for all my cousins to wear!  To my uncles reading this, just say the word and I’ll run back for some!  We could take a family portrait!

At any rate, I was proud of my find, it really is quite comfortable as well.

Posted in New York City

1 Comment »

  1. I NEED one of these. My life will not be complete without one. I like the reindeer. Size = Large. Will pick up next time we link up. Best wishes for first day of class. Dazzle ’em with brilliance!

    Comment by Father Unit — September 8, 2009 @ 8:54 am


Leave a Reply

About author

Adjusting to city life...

Search

Navigation

Categories:

Links:

Archives:

Feeds

